Posted by: horizonlankafoundationlk | January 10, 2008

CHAMILA PRIYADARSHANI EDIRISINGHA BECOMES A LANGUAGE TEACHER

CHAMILA PRIYADARSHANI

I was born in Mahavilachchiya, a remote village about 40 km away from Anuradhapura city, situated about 230 km of Colombo, Sri Lanka as the eldest daughter in farming family. I had most of my primary education at Saliya Mala Viduhala, and secondary education at Swarnapali Balika Viduhala, Anuradhapura. I finished my G. C. E. Ordinary Level Examination in 1999, I passed the examination with one “D” pass and five “C” passes. After, I entered the Swarnapali Balika College to complete my Advanced Level Examination in 2000. I finished the examination in 2002, in commerce stream with two “C” passes and one “S” pass. After that, I got a chance to join Horizon Lanka Foundation in 2002. So, it was great opportunity to me, to carry on the ICT education and to improve my English knowledge well. During that time I could improve myself well. Of course I could get an “A” pass to English in 2004.

As well as I commenced Diploma in Computer Studies course at IDM Academy totally free of charge with the courtesy of IDM’s chairman Dr. Bandu Ranasinghe. I went to India to participate the ICT training in IIT Madras in South India. As well as, I would like to thank Horizon Lanka Foundation and to ICTA of Sri Lanka for that.

While studying there, I could get an opportunity to study three languages in Rural Educational Development Academy. I learnt English, Japanese and Tamil. There we had three years’ training on those languages and after we had to teach in public schools. At the moment I am working after school in Siddhartha Maha viddhyalaya and working as a volunteer IT teacher in Saliya Mala Vidyalaya. So I decided to register in University of sri Jayawardanapura to do an English degree also. Now I’m going to classes and I want to be a good teacher and communicate in various languages. (Updated: January 10, 2008)

eMAIL chamila@horizonlanka.org

WEB ………. ……………………………………… BLOG http://chamilaedirisinghe.wordpress.com/

Responses

  1. Congratulations and wish you all the very best in your future endeavors!

  2. Well done and good luck! How marvelous to be able to speak so many languages!


Leave a Reply

Categories

