Posted by: horizonlankafoundationlk | December 29, 2007

16. First Live TV Talk show by Horizon Lanka kids in 2003

T M G Chandrasekara, the announcer: Now Aruna, a graduate produced by Mahavilachchiya village joins us now. Aruna, you are an end result of the traditional education system. Where do you stand today?

Aruna Wanninayaka: Yes TMG, after coming back from the university with a university degree I understood that there is some sort of mismatch between the degree (I obtained) and the job market. My experiences there are not that pleasant. Then I understood  – my brother (Wanni) is very creative – that creativity is vital to survive. So I joined him. At Horizon, I help the young students not to fall in the trouble I fell in (in traditional education system.)

TMG: After your university education, you had to go back to the village and had to start from Horizon again…? That is where what is necessary happens.

Aruna: I think that is what should happen. Modern knowledge is what is necessary. That can be done only through Information Technology as I think.

TMG: Champika, if you can log on to the Internet can you show us something similar (to Horizon) anywhere in the world.  Today we have a problem due to the virus problem we cannot use Internet….

Champika:  Yes TMG, I will show you some URLs in the screen. You can see www.canadaindiavillageaid.com  in the bottom. An Indian village started this project and the Canadian government supports this project now.

TMG: Wanni, there are similar projects in countries like India but they are not as difficult as your village when it comes to basic facilities.

Wanni: Yes TMG, I have been to such websites but what I have seen is that most of such projects have been started with a grant given by someone, maybe 50,000-60,000 USD. But a project like ours which started under a tree with some wooden benches going this far within such a short time is rare to my knowledge.

Leave a Reply

Categories

